Skip navigation

For immediate release


Saturday, October 11, 2008 (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii) -- Today, Australia's Craig Alexander and Great Britain's Chrissie Wellington celebrated first-place titles at the 30th anniversary of the Ford Ironman World Championship in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. Alexander, with an Ironman 70.3 World Championship title in addition to a second-place finish last year in Kona, crossed the line with a time of 8:17:45. Defending her current World Championship title, Wellington finished more than 10 minutes ahead of her fellow competitors at 9:06:23.


Alexander dominated an impressive men's field consisting of Ironman World Champions such as Chris McCormack, Normann Stadler and Faris Al-Sultan, and other top contenders including Chris Lieto, Eneko Llanos, Torbjorn Sindballe, Cameron Brown and Rutger Beke. Alexander, among the top 10 throughout the bike portion, further showcased his running prowess by taking the lead at the turnaround.


Australian Craig Alexander wins his first Ford Ironman World Championship. AP Photo/Chris Stewart


Pro Men's Top 10 Results


1. Craig Alexander, AUS -- 8:17:45

2. Eneko Burguera Llanos, ESP -- 8:20:50

3. Rutger Beke, BEL -- 8:21:23

4. Ronnie Schildknecht, SUI -- 8:21:46

5. Cameron Brown, NZL -- 8:26:17

6. Patrick Vernay, NCL -- 8:30:23

7. Andy Potts, USA -- 8:33:50

8. Mathias Hecht, SUI -- 8:34:02

9. Michael Lovato, USA -- 8:34:47

10. Eduardo Sturla, ARG -- 8:36:53


Despite mechanical trouble, Wellington took the women's lead approximately 30 miles into the bike and eclipsed the current women's run course record with a blistering marathon time of 2:57:44. Today's third-place female, Sandra Wollenhorst, also broke the women's run course record with a time of 2:58:35.


Pro Women's Top 10 Results


1. Chrissie Wellington, GBR -- 9:06:23

2. Yvonne Van Vlerken, NLD -- 9:21:20

3. Sandra Wallenhorst, DEU -- 9:22:52

4. Erika Csomor, HUN -- 9:24:49

5. Linsey Corbin, USA -- 9:28:51

6. Virginia Berasategui, ESP -- 9:29:15

7. Bella Comerford, GBR -- 9:34:08

8. Gina Ferguson, NZL -- 9:36:53

9. Gina Kehr, USA -- 9:37:06

10. Dede Griesbauer, USA -- 9:39:53


Chrissie Wellington of the United Kingdom claims her second title in a row. AP Photo/Chris Stewart


This year's Timex Ironman Watch Bonuses, totaling $20,000, were awarded to:


Bike -- Torbjorn Sindballe and Chrissie Wellington

Run -- Normann Stadler and Chrissie Wellington


In addition to a highly competitive professional field, a variety of inspirational age group athletes competed including Major League Baseball veteran Jeff Conine (Jeff Conine Steps Up to the Ironman Plate) with a time of 14:43:45, and Sean Swarner, a two-time cancer survivor with one lung, who crossed the line at 11:44:15. In addition, Keith Davids, Commanding Officer of Navy SEAL Team One, completed the event in 11:24:00.


The event saw 1,731 athletes officially start the 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike and 26.2-mile run on the Big Island of Hawaii. NBC will air the 2008 Ford Ironman World Championship on December 13, from 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. EST. Please check your local listings for specific details.


For complete results from the 2008 Ford Ironman World Championship, visit

8,154 Views 0 Comments Permalink Tags: ironman, hawaii, kona, ironman_world_championship, normann_stadler, chris_mccormack, faris_al-sultan, nbc, craig-alexander, jeff-conine, chrissie-wellington, torbjorn-sindballe, eneko-llanos, rutger-beke