Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

2384 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 2, 2011 2:11 PM by runblakerun
runblakerun Rookie 4 posts since
Jul 17, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 1, 2011 7:00 PM

Training for first triathlon...nose plug???

Training for my first triathlon and I keep getting a ton of water up my nose. Are nose plugs an option or would I be the only one there sporting a noseplug? Should I just try to tough it out?

• kakkoon Amateur 24 posts since
    May 10, 2011
    1. Jun 1, 2011 7:34 PM (in response to runblakerun)
    Re: Training for first triathlon...nose plug???

Well, as I always say, I am not an expert... but I`ve been watching a lot of videos of triathlon and worked in the staff of 7 Ironmans Brazil.... and I saw a buch of athletes using nose plugs...
    I don`t use them cause I don`t need them... well, that if I use on;y one side to breathe... even though I`ve been trainning both sides... the left side for me I always get a little drawned LOL

I think you should try the nose clips...they might help you... but that means you will release the air only through your mounth....wich could make the time of breathing a little different....

Just try it before your race if you have one... well I have my frirst in about 10 days...and what I here at most is that you shouldn`t try anything new near or at the day of the race!

Hope more experienced people answer you... that is only my amateur opinion....even though I swim for a long time already... is just my first TRI....

Good trainning for you !

• Amigold Legend 187 posts since
    Nov 14, 2007
    2. Jun 2, 2011 7:58 AM (in response to runblakerun)

OK, I'll bite and admit I use a nose plug. I have a terribly deviated septum due to breaking my nose twice when young and I simply cannot seem to keep water out of my nasal passages otherwise.