Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

2361 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Jun 12, 2011 5:58 PM by TheMouth__1
psustock Amateur 11 posts since
Jun 3, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 3, 2011 12:20 PM

Proper mechanics during hidden ball play

9-10 yo Cal Ripkien rules.  R2, R3 one out.  Ball gets past F2 and F1 comes in all the way to cover the plate.  F2 "places" the ball in F1's glove, but really still has the ball.  R2 and R3 both way off the bases trying to draw a throw.  F1 charges after R2 with hand in glove, R2 "buys time" avoiding F1 and even goes into the grass while R3 runs home and is promptly tagged out by F2.

 

I am in deep C and am certain that F2 still has the ball, and therefore have no reason to call R2 out since no tag is being attempted.  Doesn't my lack of call then tip off the offense that F1 does not have the ball?  R3 was already halfway home at that point and wasn't stopping, so it didn't really matter much.

 

Was that the proper mechanic?

 

What about if I was less than certain of who had the ball?

 

Also, F1 did not step on the rubber at any point, but if he did would that be a "Time" runners back to their bases since no balks?

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points