Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2358 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 8, 2011 5:24 AM by BOSNPM RSS
IUHeatherRN Rookie 1 posts since
Jun 3, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 3, 2011 6:05 PM

Severe calf pain after running?

Hello All! I'm completely NEW to running  - 26 yo, 140lbs, 5'6, physically fit and work out at the gym in step class, weights class, and the elliptical. I started running this week and actually was able to run/jog 2 miles without stopping. I didn't really warm up - I just started at a slow jog, at a pace of about 11min/mile. After about 2 miles, I tripped on the sidewalk and wiped out, landing on my knees and hands. I got up and walked/jogged the last 1.1 mile.  Needless to say the next day I was VERY SORE all over from my shoulders to my abs/sides to my knees and calves. My calves have been so sore that I'm practically limping when I walk and can barely go up/down steps (and it is now over 48 hours later). I must say that I probably did not adequately stretch after the run. Does anyone have any pointers about this? Is it normal? When can I start running again?

• Chase Kerlin Expert 39 posts since
    Apr 20, 2008
    1. Jun 4, 2011 10:01 AM (in response to IUHeatherRN)
    Re: Severe calf pain after running?