Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

1019 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2011 9:07 PM by KeimTime87
110011 Rookie 2 posts since
May 31, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 31, 2011 12:20 PM

pitching

12u asa rules: ball is in play batter in the box. the pitcher is in the circle but not on the rubber and goes through the pitching motion but does not release the ball.is there a call?

  • pob Rookie 1 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jun 14, 2011 12:38 PM (in response to 110011)
    Re: pitching

    The rule says that the pitcher shall not make any motion to pitch without immediately delivering the ball to the batter.

  • KeimTime87 Rookie 4 posts since
    Apr 17, 2010
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Dec 7, 2011 9:07 PM (in response to 110011)
    Re: pitching

    It depends on the situation.  If there was intent to deceive then an illegal pitch could be called. And the situation also matters, since she was not on the mound. Generally speaking as an umpire we would declare play once the pitcher is on the rubber and batter is in the box. Since it would have happened before that i would have not called anything.

     

    It is hard to give a ruling based on reading that. If you think about it in these terms it might make it simpler to understand. A batter can stake practice swings between pitches while not in the box or with one foot in the box. Same sort of situation. Also, the only real reason i could imagine a pitcher deliberately 'faking' a pitch would be to see the batter commit to a bunt. In that case it could be called illegal.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points