Using Major League Rules, I heard for the first time recently that the batting order the first time through the order is the official batting order, not the batting order tendered on paper before the game. In other words, the first nine batters must bat before the first batter comes to bat again. At that time, the batting order is established.
So, if a batting out of order occurs in the first inning, it is not batting out of order because the order has not been completed once.
Anybody want to shed some light on what I heard form a fellow umpire?
You heard incorrectly.
The order is what you hand the plate umpire at the plate conference before the game. It matters not what happens during the first time, or next times through the order.
Have your fellow umpire buy you a beer.
Whoa! Someone has been smoking some bad vegetation here!
What matters in the list of names on the lineup card that the umpires get from the managers. Names! Not Numbers!
And, the defense may let the other team bat out of order many times until they get a chance where the offender gets a hit, and THEN they make the appeal.
That is why a) getting the lineup is so important, and b) why the ump needs to know substitutes in the lineup when the happen.
I have had maybe 3 BOOs in my experience, but they were all done right, and the proper batter was called out. Ended a game on one where the imporper batter had just tied the game with 2 outs. Smart manager!