Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2592 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Jul 4, 2011 5:45 AM by freesia777 RSS
freesia777 Pro 98 posts since
Mar 13, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 24, 2011 5:28 AM

Just finished C25K.  When will it get easier, or, dare I say, fun?

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie, but I'm posting in General Discussion in hope of getting feedback from those who have been running awhile too.

I just finished C25K this week- it took a little over three months and some repeated workouts.  I can now successfully run 30 minutes without stopping - about 2.3 miles at my penguin pace.  But it is still SO HARD for me to do.  My time line goes something like this:

Minutes 1-13 -- "Hey, this isn't so bad.  Wow, look, I ran a mile!"

Minutes 14-20 -- "Oh my goodness, I'm going to die!"
Minutes 21-25 -- "Cool, I think I've found my rhythm"

Minutes 26-30 -- "Oh my goodness, I'm going to die!  Isn't it time to stop yet?!"

When does it get easier?  Is it just because this is the first time in 30+ years that I've exercised and I'm expecting too much too soon?  I read threads full of newbies that are running 10 minutes miles, going right onto B210K, hitting that 30 minute mark and feeling like they can go on forever, etc.  I am no where near that.  I plan on continuing the 30 minute runs for awhile before even thinking of moving on to something else, but it's a little frustrating.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Kate

Kate in NH

Started C25K: 03/16/2011

First 5K: 06/04/2011 (Over the River and Through the Woods 5K, Concord, NH): 40:30!!