Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4401 Views 16 Replies Latest reply: Jul 8, 2011 4:38 PM by LateRun RSS 1 2 Previous Next
LateRun Amateur 11 posts since
Jun 24, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 24, 2011 10:40 AM

Do I Have Runner's Knee? What Can I Do?

I'm new to running. I'm 48 years old and never ran before in my life. I did C25K this winter and started running 5K runs (by myself) on March of this year. From March 8th to April 5th, I did 5K runs (on my own) 8 times with no problems.

Then, on April 14th, while running, my knee stiffened around 2 miles in after a mistep and I had to run/limp all the way home. Since April 14th, I have tried running a 5K five times and always have the same result. About 2 miles in, the knee goes and then I have to limp the rest of the way. (Note, the 2 mile mark on my route does have a incline to it.)

Afterwards, the knee hurts like heck and going down stairs is extremely painful. However, within time, the knee gets better, and days afterwards, I have no problems at all. When free of the pain after running, I can exercise (like squat) and walk with no problems. When I walk a 5K, I have no problems.

I went to an orthopedist and he did x-rays. He said that my knees are in great shape. No arthritis. No calcium deposits. No tears. He just suggested rest. But, when I rested for two weeks and tried to run again, the pain came back.