Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3208 Views 15 Replies Latest reply: Jul 29, 2011 12:25 PM by Katie21784 RSS 1 2 Previous Next
Danny903 Amateur 9 posts since
Jun 16, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 28, 2011 7:13 PM

Need help/ encouragement

I'm relatively new to running, starting the program the 2nd week in May. My problem is that I feel like I'm not progressing like I should be. I'm 35 years old, over weight by the book but relatively fit, and am literally getting whipped by this thing. I am on my 4th repeat of week 5 and it is getting very discouraging. Some days I make it 15 minutes...then I have to walk. Feeling as if I made progress I go out on my next run and literally feel like I'm gona fall out after 7-8 minutes....one step forward and two steps back!!  Has anyone else experienced this struggle? If so how long did it finally take you to over come it? Thanks in advance.

• PaintingLady Legend 906 posts since
    Dec 12, 2009
    1. Jun 28, 2011 8:09 PM (in response to Danny903)
    Re: Need help/ encouragement

Hi Danny, Congratulations on your accomplishments so far.  Beleive in yourself as you can do this.  Slow your pace down, even if you feel you are going slow....go slower. Run with good posture and try to

regulate your breathing and slow down.  You are at the point now where you are doing your LSD....long slow distace.  While it may only be 20 min. but for a new runner, that week was/is huge.  So in some regards it is no different than any other LSD run. Slow down to a pace that allows you to complete your time goal.