Skip navigation

2244 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jul 2, 2011 5:11 AM by RIUIC RSS
beth_88 Rookie 1 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 11, 2010 10:08 AM

Batter running to first on 2nd strike

runner on 3B, 2-1 count on batter, batter swings, drop by catcher. Batter thinks it's 3rd strike and runs to first. Catcher throws to 1B and run scores from 3rd.

 

We allowed run to score, brought batter back to plate with 2-2 count. It was not an intentional play to bait the throw to 1st, was a 10U game.

 

Did we make the correct call? Also, what section would reference this type of situation.

 

Thanks!!

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Aug 11, 2010 12:53 PM (in response to beth_88)
    Re: Batter running to first on 2nd strike

    Right call. Intent doesn't matter.

     

    Catcher's job to know the rules and the count. If he threw - shame on him, his teammates, and his coaches.

     

     

  • rhughes18 Pro 114 posts since
    Feb 18, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Aug 12, 2010 1:29 PM (in response to Rich_Ives)
    Re: Batter running to first on 2nd strike

    As Rich Ives said you made the correct call.

     

    The only place to look is the FED casebook and there are no cases in FED for your play.

     

     

     

    Bad F2.

  • Pete_Booth Pro 163 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Aug 20, 2010 1:04 PM (in response to rhughes18)
    Re: Batter running to first on 2nd strike

    was a 10U game.



    Certain they were playing by FED rules?

    runner on 3B, 2-1 count on batter, batter swings, drop by catcher. Batter thinks it's 3rd strike and runs to first. Catcher throws to 1B and run scores from 3rd.

    We allowed run to score, brought batter back to plate with 2-2 count

     

    How many outs?

     

    RE: The batter swung and missed for strike 2 and then left the box to run towards first base. This is a violation of FED's batter's box rule. In the rule they list the reasons when B1 is allowed to vacate the box. Thinking it was strike 3 instead of strike 2 is NOT one of them.  

     

    We have strike 3 on the batter for leaving the box area.

     

    Now it depends upon how many outs there are to determine if R3's run counts or not.

     

    Less then 2 outs we have B1 out on strike 3 and R3's run counts

     

    If there were 2 outs then we have strike 3 on the batter and no Runs score.

     

    Pete Booth

     

     

     

  • bobjenkins Pro 120 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Aug 21, 2010 5:35 AM (in response to Pete_Booth)
    Re: Batter running to first on 2nd strike

    Not correct, Pete.

     

    If the ball is not caught by F2, the batter can leave the box.

     

    And, if F2 mistakenly thought it was strike 3, he can leave the box, as long as he doesn't delay his return.

     

    The rule is FED is now (correctly, imho) one of those tools we (almost) never need to use.

  • RIUIC Rookie 1 posts since
    Apr 28, 2008
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Jul 2, 2011 5:11 AM (in response to Pete_Booth)
    Re: Batter running to first on 2nd strike

    The batter is allowed to leave the box if he swings at the pitch.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...