Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4278 Views 19 Replies Latest reply: Jul 16, 2011 10:57 AM by jliller3 RSS 1 2 Previous Next
Tdaughtersmom Amateur 8 posts since
Jun 23, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 7, 2011 9:26 AM

HELP I can't breath!

I am new to running, and actually have only been very physically active for a year and a half.  I started by simply going to the gym 2-3 times a week and working with a trainer.  I've gained strength and energy and somewhere along the way decided to run a 5K.  I have tried the Cto5K a couple of times, and joined a group training for a 5K.  My problem is I simply cannot breath!!! I've corrected my posture, tried pacing and counting, and a number of other techniques, but still, I am very short of breath.  I can fast/power walk 4.2mph, and breath OK, but if I try to jog even at that slow pace, I have to stop after just a couple of minutes.

Can anyone give me some other ideas to try to increase my lung capacity?

• cmtpt53 Amateur 28 posts since
    Jun 26, 2011
    1. Jul 7, 2011 3:51 PM (in response to Tdaughtersmom)
    Re: HELP I can't breath!