Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1841 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 25, 2011 9:09 AM by PaquetRunning
ValGal0823 Amateur 10 posts since
Mar 31, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 18, 2011 8:35 AM

What pace should I try to maintain while running 10-13miles?

Hey guys, the title of my thread gives away my question. What's a comfortable pace I should try to maintain while running 10-13 miles? Sometime I get too anxious to go faster to watch the mileage go up but sometimes I know that's not right. I am still learning how to match my distance with a pace. Any suggestions?

Thanks

ValGal

• Dreamstate Legend 278 posts since
    Dec 1, 2009

Not sure how to answer this question but I'm going to suggest that you find the pace that works for you.

I'm not a very fast runner but I'm good at endurance. I average around a 10 min/mile pace during training and a 9 min/mile pace on race day (on a good day).  So, for me, 10:30 min/mile would be comfortable for that kind of mileage. But I also haven't done much speed work lately either (planning to start soon). The more speedwork you do, the better your pace will be. But again, it depends on you. I know there are plenty of regulars on the board who would run circles around me at that distance but that's what's comfortable for them.

Speedwork helps to increase speed, but pace is something that has to be practiced over time to allow your body to adjust to it at that mileage.

Completed Races 2012:

Rock and Roll USA Half Marathon, 02:54:26 (1st run POST injury)

Cherry Blossom 10-Miler, 01:49:00

====================================