Skip navigation

1397 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Aug 2, 2011 9:52 AM by BT.ROB RSS
honguito Pro 135 posts since
Dec 24, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 29, 2011 10:49 PM

INDOOR BIKE TRAINERS

Dear friends !

After living in a warm /  hot climate all year round for the last twenty years, I am going to move  to the northern hemisphere by the end of the year. So far I was able to  cycle outdoors 12 months a year, now this will change, and I am  considering the purchase of an indoor trainer.

I am a multiple  Ironman finisher and have some experience in Triathlon, but  unfortunately I have no experience with INDOOR BIKE TRAINERS.

My questions:

1. Where can I find a good overview of products available ?
  2. What are your experiences ?
  3. What type / brand can you recommend ?
  4. Do these indoor trainers also give you details about distance, etc ...
  5. Anything else you find worth mentioning ...

I am doing roughly around 4.500 miles a year.

Thanks for your help !

Gunter

• BT.ROB Legend 272 posts since
    May 12, 2009
    1. Aug 1, 2011 9:37 AM (in response to honguito)
    Re: INDOOR BIKE TRAINERS

Gunter:

Welcome to the north! I have used various trainers for 30+ years as I live in snow/rain country during the winter. Bicycling magazine probably has some reviews in the fall, maybe even currently on their website archives. Roadbikereview.com has various forums that people can weigh in on with their experiences. What to look for:

• basic trainers have fans that as you pedal faster the resistance increases (as does the sound, these can get loud).
    • magnetic trainers have a dial that you can increase the amount of resistance; pricier models will have a lever/cable that runs to the handlebars so you can increase without getting off the bike.
    • fluid trainers also have variable resistance and tend to be smoother, quieter and have more of a "road feel".