I was watching a game using USFA rules.
A batter was hit by a pitch in the hands, which were on the bat. The umpire said it was a hit by pitch and he rewarded the batter first base.
I have always thought that the hands were part of the bat and if you get hit in the hands, it counts as a foul ball.
Was the umpire correct in his call?
If you know the section of the rulebook that this is in, I would love to know!
Ive been reading, but can't find it.
Unless the hands came attached to the bat when it was purchased they are not in any rule code part of the bat. HBP
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.