F4 playing deep, R1 on first. BR hits a slow ground ball. F4 charges in and collides with R1 with both in motion. I called it incidental contact since in my judgment, both fielder and runner were in motion and just collided. The other umpire said I should have called interference. Who's right?
Who's right? Not you. A defensive player fielding a batted ball has the protection and intent is not required by the runner. Dead ball the runner is out. If F4 was not protected by you (as another defensive player fileded the ball) than obstruction should be called. This has to be one or the other.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.