Skip navigation

2408 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 29, 2011 4:58 PM by thefirecat RSS
HORNETDRIVER Amateur 39 posts since
Apr 1, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 24, 2011 9:00 AM

My Humblest Apologies...

When last we spoke a couple of years ago, I was in a very dark injury time and I was a bit abrupt with a few on this board.  I went on to finish the marathon with not my best time and in a lot of pain.  So, real quick, here's what happened:

I have been running distance since I was 11, now for over 35 years, all of which were in some form of pain.  I broke down and went to a Podiatrist who was also a marathoner, and she made me some custom orthotics... which, definitely, did not work.  I suffered bi-lateral shin splints that degraded into even worse issues.  I posted that here and someone made a suggestion about what it could be and how to handle it and I was a bit terse in my comment.  Again, sorry to whomever that was.  (deep bow asking for forgiveness)

So, on January first, in total desperation, I took off my shoes.  I've been running barefoot ever since with ZERO pain!  It's been miraculous for me and I couldn't be happier.  Oh sure, I had some growing pain of blisters and sore tendons and muscles, but my flat feet now have an arch... I'm running full training distances with pure bare feet and NO issues... Running is fun again!

I look forward to yet another MCM this year.  I'll be the one with bare feet... And a kilt.

Cheers!

HORNETDIVER

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,368 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. Aug 24, 2011 9:55 AM (in response to HORNETDRIVER)
    Re: My Humblest Apologies...

Wow! Glad you found something that works for you.  I've done some barefoot running and I appreciate the benefits.  A lot of runners have found barefoot running really works for them.  Personally, I still prefer some kind of shoes for most of my running (Kinvaras are my favorite right now).  I'll look for you at MCM, though you'll probably be in front of me.