Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

888 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 11, 2011 10:21 PM by Mikala_SF RSS
akostano Rookie 1 posts since
Aug 28, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 28, 2011 4:39 PM

Help! Just starting out!

I'm new to this whole running/jogging thing... trying out the C25K program that I see many are doing.

I need help!! What do YOU use as motivation?! I've been doing not too badly with actually getting off the couch, but once I start going I tend to want to quit instantly.

I just finished week one. I've been finding that after each time, my knees and ankles are sore. I just invested in some new shoes, pretty good ones from what the salesperson told me. So I don't think that's the problem... any other possible causes, and ideas how to make it stop?

Thanks!!

• allmylove Expert 51 posts since
    Apr 24, 2011
    1. Aug 28, 2011 5:14 PM (in response to akostano)
    Re: Help! Just starting out!

Just keep putting one foot in front of the other.  Your body will rebel some this first week, but keep at it.  You are conditioning your tendons and muscles to a new activity.  After a while you'll find that you feel better after you've gone for a little bit.  Normally when I start (on week 7 starting tomorrow) I'll have the aches and pains in the knees and hips, especially if I forget to take the motrin ahead of time.  But about 3-5 min in I start losing that pain and start feeling stronger.  I remember on week 1 I was totally gasping for breath after 30-45 seconds, and now doing 25 min's.