Last Sunday, one of our runners slid into B2, while F2 threw a straight one to F6. Our runner was lying on the ground, in contact with B2. F6 was kneeling down, with his back to the (only) umpire at the plate. Blue signalled and called Out! Our runner saw the ball lying on the ground, out of sight of the umpire. F6 did not show possession of the ball. Our runner took the ball, and tossed it just one foot in the direction of the umpire, in order to show that F6 had no possession.
The umpire altered his call and changed it to Safe.
Discussion followed, but Blue stayed with his last call: Safe.
Oh, and our eh.. level is just above bush league :-))
What would have been the correct call? Where is it in the OBR?
It's a different situation. Recognize that.
To interfere with a play there must be a play to interfere with. There was none in the OP. Therefore no interference.
If there was one, then it could be interference. But there wasn't one in the OP.
If there had been a runner on third, then the umpire would have to be convinced that the other runner prevented the defense from making a play on him.
For example, if R3 tried to advance home on the loose ball, and the other runner's picking up of the live ball prevented a fielder from making a play on that runner, then you would have interference and would call R3 out. But if R3 is standing on third base wiping dirt off his uniform, then all you would have is "weak" interference on the other runner, and the appropriate call would simply be Time, along with a not-so-subtle warning to the runner to leave the ball alone.