Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

993 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Oct 9, 2011 11:22 AM by JamesJohnsonLMT
JRRunsSlow Rookie 3 posts since
Aug 19, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 19, 2011 10:21 AM

Groin Pain - Intense

I have been running for a little over 18 months, have run everything from 10K fun runs, 1/2 and a full Marathon earlier this spring.  This question is more about a problem that I lived with over the past winter, but from time to time I seem to have a quick groin pain that comes and quickly goes, but reminds me of the injury I ran with all last winter and just want to hear if anyone has suffered anything similar.

Here we go, and bear with me as I tend to be a bit wordy at times.

The injury started in early winter and at the time I was logging about 30K a week.  Symptoms of the pain were a sharp burning pain in my groin that made it difficult to support weight on the leg (difficult to climb stairs, would have to start with my good leg, lift bad leg to step, then with good leg launch to next step (ie one step at a time versus step over step as a set of stairs would normally be climbed).  The pain seemed to be around the inside of the groin versus the outside of the hip.