Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4253 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 27, 2011 8:10 PM by Lochbain RSS
Gvicknair Rookie 3 posts since
Oct 13, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 13, 2011 7:05 AM

First pair of (REAL) running shoes

New to the site so please bare with me.  I have been running strictly for exercise for several years.  Recently I have dabbled with the occasional 5K race.  I decided to go to a specialty running store and get fitted for a pair of shoes after experiencing slight knee pain while running in my current pair of shoes I bought from Academy sports.  I have only ran in the new pair for just over a week but am now experiencing pain in my calfs while I am running and right after the run.  It kind of seems like shin spints, but what I think and hope is this might be my legs adjusting to the added support of these shoes.  When I got fitted they told me that I was slightly overpronating.  I was sold a pair of Nike Zoom structure 14's.  Has anyone experienced the same thing when going to a new pair of shoes?  I ran last night and still felt some pain but not as bad.  I'm running a race in two days and thinking about using my old pair for the race. 

• johnmcc22 Pro 100 posts since
    Mar 15, 2010
    1. Oct 14, 2011 7:38 PM (in response to Gvicknair)
    Re: First pair of (REAL) running shoes

I used to get shin splints real bad, I went to a running store and they looked at the way I walked and had me try a pair of Asics 2160's, now dont' get them as much or rarely get them. Good luck!

1: Essential2life 5k 4.7.2012

2: Long Branch Half Marathon 5.6.2012