Skip navigation

13726 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2012 3:42 AM by BionicBiker RSS
nancybird1018 Amateur 13 posts since
Oct 2, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 8, 2011 12:52 PM

Would you buy this bike?

I am just getting into road biking again.  My old bike is very old, so I'm just going to leave that set up on my indoor trainer.  Being a stay-at-home mom with 2 very little boys, I don't have much time to shop for a bike.  I am thinking about just going with this  http://www.rei.com/product/807241  I can get 20% off.  Haven't test ridden it.  Would you say go for it, or visit a local bike shop and get personal assistance?  I wanted to find something a little cheaper, but I am giving myself a budget of $1000.

Thanks,
Nancy

• Geared Amateur 15 posts since
    Nov 12, 2009
    1. Apr 10, 2011 4:27 AM (in response to nancybird1018)
    Re: Would you buy this bike?

Well, what kind of riding do you want to do?  Training for something?  Or just ride around the neighborhood with the kids?  This bike is a good starter road bike.  Not really for riding around with the kids.  That you will want a hybrid bike.  Good luck

• holtmoore Rookie 3 posts since
    Apr 10, 2011
    2. Apr 10, 2011 5:05 PM (in response to Geared)

I would recommend a Jamis for under 1000. Its a good dependable bike for the price-American made too. The bike shop in Tucker has them. Bikeways of Tucker? not sureof the name... but talk to Buddy the owner. A good egg.

• SkippySankovic Rookie 4 posts since
    Nov 7, 2011
    3. Nov 7, 2011 10:54 PM (in response to nancybird1018)

It has decent components (Shimano 105 shifters and derailleurs, tiagra for the rest), but it's a little heavy. I'd figure out what size you need, try REI and Performance (if there is one nearby), but also consider bikesdirect.com. Local shops will be much more expensive, but will offer a follow up tune up and more person to person service. NOT always better service, but different service.