Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3299 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 1, 2011 1:28 PM by offmycouch RSS
RunBekeRun Rookie 1 posts since
Nov 22, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 23, 2011 2:49 PM

New and in need of advice please?

Hello all, I'm a brand new newbie and I have always loathed running. I've recently decided I might actually enjoy the health benefits and the challenge. My biggest obstacles are the winter weather and my jogger stroller. I want so desperatly to go out and do the program , but I can not bundle the baby up in freezing temps. The only respite I get with childcare is on the weekend and I don't want to limit myself to two days and nothing during the week. I have no funds for a gym membership at the moment, however, I do have the luxury of being a stay at home mom. Is there a way I can do this at home similar to a Leslie Sansone program with walking in place and then jogging in place? I don't know what else to do and I want to get started ASAP. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. -Beke

• Old Coyote Legend 256 posts since
    Apr 9, 2011
    1. Nov 24, 2011 7:38 AM (in response to RunBekeRun)

Wii Fit Plus. Seriously. My wife started her health program with it. I was very sceptical, but found the workouts to be realistic and helpful. After 4 or 5 months on the Wii, she could run/walk a 10k.