Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

6242 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Dec 18, 2011 2:28 PM by JasonFitz1 RSS
Hawkeyegirl1987 Rookie 1 posts since
Dec 4, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 4, 2011 3:15 PM

Running-yoga-strength training?

I am getting back to running after a long break of burnout.  This time around I would like to do things differently.  I would like to incorporate yoga (I'm new to that) and strength training with free weights.  My question is:  how do I create a workout schedule that fits all of these components?  What does your workout schedule look like?  Thanks so much for your help!

• Chrsh01 Rookie 1 posts since
    Feb 25, 2010
    1. Dec 7, 2011 7:32 PM (in response to Hawkeyegirl1987)

Hello, hello.

Well, as someone who has been active in both (running & strength training) for many, many years...I can share my experience. I have to mention that I have trie yoga and did not care for it even thought I think it is a great activity to....its just not my thing. So I run 2-3x per week with hiking or bicycling as a cross training activity. I strength train at least 2x per week consistently. My strength routine focus's on compound movements that include single leg squat w/ stability ball, lunges and single leg dumbell deadlifts. Upper body consists of push-ups, dips, inverted rows (done on a Smith Machine), a rowing moving movement for  upper back and/or pull-ups or Lat pulldown machine. The routine is a Push-Pull type movement program. My strength routine w/ a shor warm-up takes about 45 minutes to complete. Good Luck to ya, Chris034.JPG