Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

448 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 3, 2012 1:08 PM by Jasko123 RSS
sunshine_angel_25 Rookie 1 posts since
Jun 27, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 2, 2012 6:55 PM

Side Stitches?

I have been running for almost 2 years now and this year (2012) I am going to do my first 1/2 marathon. A couple of weeks ago, I noticed pain in my upper abdominal muscles on both sides, right about where my diaphragm sits as well as occasional sharp pain in my neck/shoulder, a couple minutes into my run. The pain stops shortly after I stop running but as soon as I start again, the pain returns. I haven't been doing anything differently as far as my workouts go and I haven't been over exerting myself. I do strength training along with running. The pain isn't there when I bike, just when I run. I went from running 4-5 miles at a time to barely being able to run 1 mile because the pain is so intense. Any suggestions? Thanks!

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,160 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Jan 2, 2012 9:08 PM (in response to sunshine_angel_25)
    Re: Side Stitches?

Sunshine you didn't say how far off that Half is, so I will assume by your mileage that it's at least a couple months into the future. If so there could be time to resolve these problems before they negatively affect your training.

This will be a two-part answer because these pains are not likely to be related.