Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

453 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jan 4, 2012 5:02 PM by Jasko123 RSS
meganestlareine Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 4, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 4, 2012 5:06 AM

Anemia...

I am new to running. I also have been suffering from IDA for the past six or so years. My first run was absolutely horrific. Within 30 seconds I couldn't breath, within one minute I was absolutely exhaused and struggled to keep going.  I have been running for the last few weeks and my performance has not improved at all.

I am also a smoker who is struggling to give up smoking at the moment, and I know that both smoking and anemia have a profound effect on your RBC count, and how your body transports oxygen.

I was wondering if anyone else has struggled with this?

Also, do you think its a good idea to continue with the running, or possibly wait, at least until I have been a non-smoker for a while (and hopefully my body returns back to that of a non-smoker?)

• squilky Pro 91 posts since
    Jul 18, 2007
    1. Jan 4, 2012 6:10 AM (in response to meganestlareine)
    Anemia...