Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1106 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 28, 2012 2:15 PM by AJJ5
Larryphoto Rookie 4 posts since
Nov 4, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 23, 2012 1:03 PM

Need advice on strength training

I've been running for about 6 months now and just finished my second 5K.  I'm now working on the 10K!

Since I started running, I have pretty much abandoned any other workout routines and I want to get back into that.  My question is about WHEN I should be mixing in the workouts.

I generally run on Mon, Wed and Fri.  Am I better off doing the weight training on the same days (so that I have a day of true rest in between) or should I be doing the weight training on the non-running days?  Just a little confused on how much to push/rest the body.  Don't want my 42 year old body breaking down on me....

I'd appreciate any thoughts!

Larry

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. Jan 23, 2012 1:22 PM (in response to Larryphoto)

Hi Larry,

It sounds like Tuesdays and Thursdays might work for your cross-training days and then you would still have a scheduled rest day over the weekend.  It really depends on your schedule, and what works best for your personal conditioning, so if you prefer to take a break during the week, then just add a weight-lifting day on Saturday or Sunday.

Best of luck on your 10k training and if you have the opportunity to get in some additional 5ks or 8k races in advance of the 10k, that might be of assistance to better prepare. 

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011