Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2332 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jan 29, 2012 5:47 PM by Whale Shark
RyanPolk Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 23, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 23, 2012 9:11 AM

New Runner, 340lbs. Any advice?

For a little bit of a backstory, I am 25, 6'6" and as of last summer weighed in at exactly 400lbs. I graduated college with a BS in criminal justice. I want to eventually work for a federal level department, such as ATF or DEA. To do this, I need my degree as well as five years minimum experience in local law enforcement. The police academy where I live requires being able to run a mile and a half in 18 minutes just to get in. I went on the atkins diet and began doing somewhat regular running and exercise. I dropped sixty pounds over the past six months. However, while my running has improved, I feel like I am not gaining endurance as quickly as I should. I figure it is due to my training - which until now was just jog as long as I could, then walk until I could jog again. Probably isn't pushing myself like the exercise listed on this site.

So, I will be using the training method described on this site. I started this thread to keep me motivated, and to ask a few questions, if anyone could help.

- Should I start at w1d1, even though I've been doing running on my own?

- Is there anything I should worry about for trying to run at my weight?