Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3231 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Feb 10, 2012 3:13 PM by rcktgirl05 RSS
EA22222 Rookie 5 posts since
Jan 27, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 27, 2012 8:07 AM

30 days before first half!

I'm running my first half marathon in four weeks and could use some advice on how to schedule my runs for the next month leading up to the race. I'm running for the experience and to finish, and while it'd be nice to have a kick-butt finish time, I'm OK with my 9:30 pace and speed is not my main motivator.

I've been training for the past several months and have developed a relatively good base of mileage and have overall good cardiovascular health and endurance. I've been doing 5-mile maintenance runs two days a week and usually run a longer 5-8 mile run on the weekend. I also cross train three days a week and have one rest day per week. My longest runs to date have been 10 miles in length, one completed in December and one completed this past weekend.