Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2394 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Feb 7, 2012 8:31 AM by jjwaverly_42 RSS
tine1972 Rookie 3 posts since
Feb 6, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 6, 2012 1:26 PM

my first 5k

hi there, I am new to running and finally enrolled for my first 5K, on february 11,2012. this question  is for the avid runners, can you share with me some tips for my first race.

thank you in advance,

tine

• OshCat Pro 179 posts since
    Mar 15, 2011
    1. Feb 6, 2012 1:51 PM (in response to tine1972)
    my first 5k

Before I ran my first race, I had found this article on Active.com:  http://www.active.com/running/Articles/8_Answers_to_Common_5K_Questions.htm

It eased a lot of my worries, I think you'll find it helpful too.

Best of luck in your race!

2013:

New Year's Color Run (5k) - 01/01/13

Oshkosh Half-Marathon - 04/21/13

• silentstrider Amateur 31 posts since
    Jan 11, 2012
    2. Feb 6, 2012 1:51 PM (in response to tine1972)
    my first 5k

The biggest thing without know anything else, is to know what kinda of shape you are in and know your personal limits.  Make sure that you consult with a physican prior to any new training, and continually train for your event.  If you have never run before there are programs called "Couch to 5k" designed for new runners, but your 5k is in 5 days, which isn't enough time.  Actually with the amount of time you have, I would do the run and enjoy it and then work hard to get better on you next 5k.  Good luck on your run.

Nick

Chicago Shamrock Shuffle 8k 57:02 4/10/11

Chicago Run for the Zoo 10k 1:06:51 6/05/11