Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3931 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Feb 25, 2012 7:11 PM by ImagoDei RSS
reina43 Rookie 2 posts since
Feb 13, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 13, 2012 1:18 PM

New Beginings

Hello Everyone

Im new to this and I also need encouragement to fight through this.  Im 43 yo Im 211pds.  Ive never really and Im ready to finally get to where Im feeling good about what I see when I look at myself.

Ive been working out with Jullian Micheals for about 3 weeks and yeh!!!!  Ive lost a few inches all over.  Im getting ready to do a physical fitness test for a job overseas and running is part of it.  That right now is the motivation but I want to get myself in shape once and for all.

I have been walking and doing some running but I feel Ive been doing it all wrong since my knees kill me afterward.  I think it has something to do with the weight Im carrying currently and the double duty I put on them doing Jillian's workout plus run/walk.  Anyone got any suggestions?????

Nevertheless, Im going to start the program tomorrow.  Wish me luck!!!!!

• hegnessevents.com Pro 58 posts since
    Dec 9, 2011
    1. Feb 13, 2012 7:38 PM (in response to reina43)
    New Beginings

Take a good look at your running shoes and your form. Knee pain is often attributed to these two things. Also, your body is going to take awhile to acclimate to running, so you could also be experiencing discomfort from that. Cruise around here in the "Med Tent" section and you'll see more specific advice about your condition, but the good news is it is quite common. Good luck!