Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1265 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 18, 2012 1:12 PM by mommaT45
mommaT45 Rookie 4 posts since
Mar 17, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 17, 2012 8:10 PM

New runner needs advice

I'm new to running and have a few questions. I was going to the gym prior to running and I was doing weight training three days a week. I was having a lot of knee pain while doing lunges. I read that its good to incorporate weight training with running? And if so, what exactly do I need to be doing? I know I need to strengthen my legs but Im unsure of exactly how to do it. I have a 5K May 12th. Any and All advice is needed and greatly appreciated. Thanks, Terri

• k9178 Pro 92 posts since
    Oct 14, 2009
    1. Mar 18, 2012 6:39 AM (in response to mommaT45)
    New runner needs advice

It may be that the lunge motion is causing you pain in your knees.  I have bad knees and lunges are often difficult for my knees.  You may want to stick to squats or work on modifying your form in lunges.  You have to make sure your knees line up with your toes when you do your lunges.