Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2564 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 28, 2012 9:28 PM by Michael Lohr RSS
LucyLovesRunning Rookie 3 posts since
Mar 25, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 25, 2012 9:23 AM

1st Post 2nd Marathon...depserate need of advice!

Hi everyone I am new to this as of today and would really appreciate some advice on my running. I am 3 weeks away from my 2nd marathon. The first one was a 'just get round' affair and this one I am hoping to do sub 4hrs. However! I was supposed to do a 22 mile run today but ended it early at 12 miles due to some quite severe and embarrassing stomach problems! I have also missed most of last weeks training runs too due to a bit of an injury. I have clocked up two 20 mile runs prior to this weekend but I am now fretting that I am not fit enough to do 4hrs now. Any advice on what to do for these last 3 weeks?? I was thinking of attempting the 22 miles tomorrow or maybe tuesday. I'm having a last minute marathon panic any advice will be great..Thanks in advance :-)

• BOSNPM We're Not Worthy 2,482 posts since
    Nov 20, 2007

I would just start your taper.  You are not going to gain anything at this point.  Getting to the start line healthy and rested is most important!  Good luck

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011