Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1006 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 10, 2012 4:33 AM by damien pressley
deanscox Pro 107 posts since
Jan 3, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 4, 2012 1:20 PM

Hip joint pain

I have been running for 12 weeks after 35 years of not doing anything.  I finished the C25K program and one organized 5K and am doing a new stepped up prgram to cut my time down for a 5K on 4/21.

I have begun experiencing a pain in my hip when I am NOT running.  It hurts when I walk around during the day.  It is tender when I first start running but pretty much disappears when I am warmed up and returns when I am cooled down.

It is in the joint, not the muscles and is experience in the front of the hip on about 180 degrees side to side.  I suspect it is a little inflamation due to stepping up the training and due to the shock of taking myself from sedentery to active.   I am 6' 3" and approx 180-185 lbs, so it is not a wight issue.  I have a chonically tight and sore lower back and am adding some back and stomach strengthening exercises to my routine.

Any thought or suggestions are appreciated.

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,162 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Apr 4, 2012 4:21 PM (in response to deanscox)
    Re: Hip joint pain