Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2951 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Apr 24, 2012 1:12 PM by Ellsbird1
REBECCARUNGO Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 11, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 17, 2012 7:32 AM

Anyone have issues w/side stitch while running?? What helps??

Hi all:

I am new to running, going on 3 months now, have done four 5K's in the past 2 months and always seem to get a stitch in my right side on mile 2. Anyone have any advice on how to make it stop? Has anyone tried the kt tape to tape up the side, if so, does this help?

Thx!

Rebecca

• meryl27 Pro 116 posts since
    May 18, 2009

Hi-

I'm no expert but I can tell you what works for me.  I was plagued with side stiches for at least a year when I started running.  Tried lots of things, but nothing worked until I read this somewhere:

When you feel the first twinge of it coming (before it's even really there), take a deeeeeeep breath, and then blow it out in forcefully in pants (like a woman in labor).  Make sure to get all of the air out of your lungs, and then repeat (when you think you're done, force out one more pant).  I do this 5-6 times in a row and the feeling of that stitch coming subsides every time.

May look kinda crazy, but whatever works, right?!?

Good luck!

Meryl I may not be there yet, but I'm closer than I was yesterday. ~Author Unknown

C25K Graduate 7/18/2009

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,432 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008