Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2905 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Apr 26, 2012 5:49 PM by lenzlaw RSS
Lochbain Amateur 36 posts since
Apr 23, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 25, 2012 6:49 PM

Side cramps after a mile

I've been training for my first marathon for several months now. A few weeks back I started speed work on one of my days. After about a mile of going good and hard I get a side cramp in my right side. The only way I can get rid of it is to walk for a bit, and even then it will come back after I've been running for a while again. This does not happen with my medium or long runs. I've been watching my hydration and nutrition and I make sure not to eat for at least an hour and a half before the run. Any ideas>

• RunBetter Amateur 31 posts since
    Jan 7, 2012
    1. Apr 25, 2012 6:53 PM (in response to Lochbain)
    Side cramps after a mile

The best known cure, in my opinion, for a side stitch, is to put your hand on your head, and blow all your air out. Once you have done this, blow even more air out . Then when you inhale, try to do it smoothly and slowly. This is more of a quick-fix than prevention, and it isnt perfect, but it could help if you are in trouble.

• Kinver88 Pro 80 posts since
    Oct 2, 2010
    2. Apr 26, 2012 3:19 PM (in response to Lochbain)
    Side cramps after a mile