Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4907 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: Jun 8, 2012 2:52 PM by YeukeiNg
ktsand1 Rookie 2 posts since
May 16, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

May 16, 2012 2:25 PM

New runner with calf pain... help?

I have been running (if you could call it that) for just short of 4 months around 3 times per week. About a month and a half ago my legs started hurting like crazy after running. My shins and even my calves hurt. I took it easy for a week or so and made sure I was stretching and icing my shins when I was finished. Almost immediately the pain in my shins was gone but the pain in my calves continued to worsen. I noticed when I did my 5K a few weeks ago that I would have to slow to a walk due to the pain. However if I walked longer than 30 seconds, the pain was worse & I had to start running again. When at its worst, I would wake up at night due to the throbbing in my legs for up to 2 days after running. I haven't run much in the last couple of weeks and it seems to be improving but I don't want to over do it or just give up altogether. A friend mentioned to me that it could be lactic acid build up. Any thoughts or advice for this newbie?

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. May 16, 2012 3:00 PM (in response to ktsand1)