Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1437 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 16, 2012 5:19 AM by Imgellin RSS
JamiMyers Rookie 3 posts since
Jan 2, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 15, 2012 7:39 PM

Shin Pain & 1/2 Marathon in 2 weeks

I have been running off and on for a few years.  I normally run 5k's and run/walk a 1/2 marathon.  I normally run about 3/4 of it and walk the rest.   I am training for my 3rd half marathon and have been following the 10 week training plan.  In my training I normally walk up (speed walk) the big hills and run the rest.  In the past week of my training I have been having shin pain mainly on my right inside leg.  I can run through it and it will stop hurting about mile 4 on my long runs but hurts the entire run on my short runs.  I am 2 weeks away from my 1/2 and I really want to run this race!  Every year to celebrate my anniversary of being cancer free (ovarian cancer) we run a race.  This half marathon is my anniversary race.  What can I do to make it to this race? 

Thanks for your help!

Attachments:
  • JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,127 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    1. Apr 21, 2012 8:37 PM (in response to JamiMyers)

I think your symptoms have not been severe enough to rule out running this race, especially in light of how much it means to you. I like the idea that you are run-walking as a more natural approach to the sport. We who run-run these things tend to get even worse injuries!