Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1685 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: May 30, 2012 8:01 PM by Sparkles1984 RSS
Sparkles1984 Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 14, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

May 28, 2012 7:13 PM

Doing the active.com C25K through my iphone :)

Hey everyone! I'm brand new to running. I started about a week ago and have attempted Day 1 (of Wk 1) four times now. I still can't do all of the jogs. I've never been very active, nor have I ever run very far. Does anyone else feel discouraged? I mean I know I'm way out of shape, but I still can't even complete Day 1 (and the jogs are only 60 seconds at a time!)! I don't have asthma or anything, but everytime I run my lungs want to beat me up. Is this normal for a beginner? Is there any way to increase your lung capacity/stamina? Does it get easier?

I welcome any and all advice!

Thanks,

Ashley

Ashley

• akkoker Rookie 1 posts since
    Apr 9, 2011
    1. May 29, 2012 7:07 AM (in response to Sparkles1984)

I'm no expert on this, but I can relate!  The good news is..  I finished this program and I believe you can too.  One trick that helped me was to focus on the positive.  Congratulate yourself for getting out there PERIOD.  It's more than what you're used to doing, right?  I set the goal:  "Get out there for 30 minutes- whatever you get done- GREAT!"   To borrow a phrase from the P90X guy, " Do your best, forget the rest".   You will see improvement and your body will get used to running.  Eventually you'll find yourself getting cranky when you don't get to go!  Good luck and stick with it!

• CharisW Rookie 1 posts since