Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

649 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: May 29, 2012 2:52 PM by ngoetting RSS
ngoetting Rookie 4 posts since
Nov 8, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

May 29, 2012 1:38 PM

First half marathon in 1 week...super tired?

Hi All,

I have been training for my first half marathon for about 5 months now. I ran the full 13.1 once about 3 weeks ago in training.

The race is next weekend and I can only say I'm....tired! My training has me running very little to almost no mileage this week and all I want to do is sleep!

Should I run more miles to keep my body going? Does anybody know if this is common fatigue or maybe I'm burnt out?

Thank you

Nicole

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. May 29, 2012 2:48 PM (in response to ngoetting)
    First half marathon in 1 week...super tired?

Hi Nicole,

I think some exhaustion is normal, especially since you have been increasing your LR schedule and level of training over a period of several months.  Although you are feeling tired, just have confidence that you are better prepared for the half.