Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

947 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Sep 16, 2012 7:21 AM by AliciaGriffin RSS
RunnerJess5 Rookie 1 posts since
Oct 25, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 31, 2012 9:19 AM

Knee injury or Patellar tendinitis?

Hello all.

I have been running for about 2 years now and have been running races for about a year and have never had problems with my knee.  I was on my last 12 mile training run for a upcoming half marathon and around mile 8 my knee started to have a little twinge of pain. By mile 9 I was done, only able to walk home. There was no sounds of popping nor did it feel like it was grinding together, there is also no swelling. The sharp pain location is on the outside of my right knee slightly below the knee cap. I took the week off from running and by the time my half came I felt good and gave it a whirl. Half was going well, no pain at all for the first 4 miles and then the twinge started again. At mile 7 I pulled out of the race. I saw a ortho doc a week after this happened and he did x-rays and found nothing wrong. He wants to hold off on the MRI and has said it is most likely a injury from over usage. I took 3 weeks off at his request and did nothing as far as exercise goes. I got the all clear to try and run yesterday and it didn't go well. The first mile felt really good, no pain at all. Shortly after mile 1 the twinge started and a few minutes later it was back to being a very sharp pain. I'f I had some sort of tear, wouldn't that hurt as soon as I tried to run? I am finding it odd that I can still run say 1 plus miles before any sort of pai