Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

1760 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 24, 2012 8:06 AM by Mike_CVUA
PY447 Rookie 2 posts since
May 13, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 6, 2012 4:08 PM

Dropped 3rd strike

Two questions: how far can a batter walk from home plate on a dropped 3rd strike and still run to first?  And, if the bases are loaded with two strikes and the catcher drops the ball, can he simply touch home plate for a force out. Thanks.

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jun 6, 2012 4:49 PM (in response to PY447)
    Dropped 3rd strike

    I have not seen any specific guidance in the Little League rulebook; however, in clinics, the instructors have suggested that if the batter leaves the dirt circle, he has sufficiently abandoned his right to advance.  Thus, the umpire should rule the batter out.

     

    In the 2-out, bases loaded case, yes F2 can touch the plate, and the K would be validated.

     

    Mike CVUA

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Jun 7, 2012 7:52 AM (in response to PY447)
    Dropped 3rd strike

    It IS in the rule book.

     

    7.08(a) Approved Ruling page 83 in the 2012 rule book.

     

    When a batter becomes a runner on a third strike that is not caught, and starts for the bench or his/her position, that batter may advance to first base at any time before entering the bench. To put the batter out, the defense must tag the batter or first base before the batter touches first base.

     

     

  • FuzzyFace2 Expert 41 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Jun 24, 2012 5:39 AM (in response to Rich_Ives)
    Dropped 3rd strike

    at some point isn't the runner out of the baseline?

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Jun 24, 2012 8:06 AM (in response to FuzzyFace2)
    Dropped 3rd strike

    Fuzz:

     

    You might be confusing a runner being out of the "base path" when it comes to a tag play with the 3-foot running lane violation.

     

    In fact, in a U3K sitch, you may very well have a 3-foot lane violation--the substance of which was discussed in detail in a previous thread.

     

    Mike CVUA

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...