Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2029 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 11, 2012 10:11 AM by badmatty
badmatty Rookie 5 posts since
Oct 22, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 2, 2012 4:14 AM

Help me define beginner

I think of myself as a total newbie.  I look at the amount of time I've been running and how late in life I started and figure I have to be a beginner.  I started to run last August and had problems with knee pain.  Someone recommended that I get fitted for proper running shoes and it was like a miracle.  I ran my first 5k road race on September 18th at the age of 38.  I was amazed that after losing 30 pounds in the previous 5 months and only running for a month, I turned in a 24:34 time.  I was so excited, that I ran and ran and ran.  In fact too much.  I ended up doing some damage to my achilles.  That put a quick stop to it.  I continued my fitness regiment otherwise preparing for a Tough Mudder event.  It was not till February that I could start running again and now that this mud race is behind me, I am again focusing on running.  I love it.  If you're wondering how much I've actually run; by my endomondo tracking (I use it religiously), I have about 300 miles under me.  My 5k times are about the same as last Sept.

I'm still a beginner, right?