We have discussed deflected batted balls and when/if a runner may be guilt of INT as a result.
Here's one I had yesterday. AAA League Championship (LL Rules.)
Hit ground ball coming slightly left of the middle, and F6 is charging in to field it. R2 properly clears the fielder allowing plenty of room to make the play.
F1 jabs for the ball and deflects the batted ball more to the left of the infield. F6 reacts and leaps to his right. But then HIS impetus makes him collide with R2--F6's outstretched hands contact R2's hip. R2 jumps to avoid being hit by the ball and makes it to 3B.
DM wants INT.
I think the operative discussion points are: Even though it was deflected by F1, it's still a batted ball. R2 gave better than a step-and-reach hemisphere for F6's play based on the ORIGINAL trajectory, but that geometry changed with the deflection. F6 collided with R2 who was doing his best NOT to interfere.
What do you have?
Once a batted ball is deflected a runner is not guilty of interfering with the ball.
The runner is NOT excused from interfering with ANOTHER FIELDER making a play on the ball. F1 would not be protected if the ball was more than a step and a reach but any other fielder IS proteccted.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.