Runner at 1st and runner at 2nd. There are 2 outs.
Batter hits long to fence but stays inside the park.
Batter is fast and scores on hit, but misses 2nd base.
On appeal, we rule batter out for missing 2nd.
Runner on 2nd scored before batter missed 2nd.
Runner on 1st had not scored prior to batter missing 2nd.
The appeal out was the 3rd out of inning so we rule this is a timing play.
Were we correct in allowing 1st run to score but not the 2nd?
We are now being told that we erred. Did we?
It IS a timing play.
WHEN was the out registered? (That's what matters, not the "time" of a base touch/non-touch.)
Sounds to me that R1 and R2 both scored before the BR was called out at second.
Note that if BR had missed 1st base, on the appeal, the batter being the third out before he legally attained 1B (or a forced runner missing his next base for out #3) then NO RUNS SCORE. But that's not what you had.
A timing play is based on when the out was registered, not when the violation occurred. You erred.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.