Skip navigation

830 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 19, 2012 6:36 AM by Mark_in_SD RSS
warden1952 Amateur 12 posts since
May 20, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 17, 2012 12:33 PM

Runner misses base


Runner at 1st and runner at 2nd. There are 2 outs.

Batter hits long to fence but stays inside the park.

Batter is fast and scores on hit, but misses 2nd base.

On appeal, we rule batter out for missing 2nd.

Runner on 2nd scored before batter missed 2nd.

Runner on 1st had not scored prior to batter missing 2nd.

The appeal out was the 3rd out of inning so we rule this is a timing play.

Were we correct in allowing 1st run to score but not the 2nd?

We are now being told that we erred. Did we?

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jun 17, 2012 1:39 PM (in response to warden1952)
    Runner misses base

    Yes.

     

    It IS a timing play. 

     

    WHEN was the out registered?  (That's what matters, not the "time" of a base touch/non-touch.)

     

    Sounds to me that R1 and R2 both scored before the BR was called out at second.

     

    Note that if BR had missed 1st base, on the appeal, the batter being the third out before he legally attained 1B (or a forced runner missing his next base for out #3) then NO RUNS SCORE.  But that's not what you had.

     

    A timing play is based on when the out was registered, not when the violation occurred.  You erred.

     

    Mike CVUA

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Jun 17, 2012 9:19 PM (in response to Mike_CVUA)
    Runner misses base

    I agree with Mike.

  • Mark_in_SD Legend 207 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Jun 19, 2012 6:36 AM (in response to warden1952)
    Runner misses base

    I also agree with Mike.  It is a timing play, but the time that matters is the time the appeal is made, not the time that the actual miss occurred.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points