Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

781 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jun 19, 2012 6:39 AM by Mark_in_SD
Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
May 25, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 17, 2012 8:01 AM

Step-and-a-reach INT or not?

We have discussed deflected batted balls and when/if a runner may be guilt of INT as a result.

 

Here's one I had yesterday.  AAA League Championship (LL Rules.)

 

R1, R2.

 

Hit ground ball coming slightly left of the middle, and F6 is charging in to field it.  R2 properly clears the fielder allowing plenty of room to make the play.

 

F1 jabs for the ball and deflects the batted ball more to the left of the infield.  F6 reacts and leaps to his right.  But then HIS impetus makes him collide with R2--F6's outstretched hands contact R2's hip.  R2 jumps to avoid being hit by the ball and makes it to 3B.

 

DM wants INT.

 

I think the operative discussion points are:  Even though it was deflected by F1, it's still a batted ball.  R2 gave better than a step-and-reach hemisphere for F6's play based on the ORIGINAL trajectory, but that geometry changed with the deflection.  F6 collided with R2 who was doing his best NOT to interfere.

 

What do you have?

 

Mike CVUA

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points