Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

901 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 24, 2012 10:49 AM by Mike_CVUA
Frank_B Legend 1,324 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 24, 2012 8:20 AM

runner interference?

?????   Would like to see a summary of when a baserunner is called out for interference and the batter-runner is also called out on the same play.  ?????

 

Thanks,

Frank!

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jun 24, 2012 9:59 AM (in response to Frank_B)
    runner interference?

    Frank:

     

    I'll do you one better!   A Triple Play where the defense NEVER touches the ball!  This is one of those umpire quizzes where it's not likely to happen, but it forces you to know the rules.

     

    What kinds of plays register an automatic out and the ball STAYS in Play?

     

    What kinds of plays register an automatic out and the ball must be called dead?

     

    OK, here's the sitch:

     

    No outs, bases loaded.

     

    B4 hits a popup to the infield.  Ump calls Infield fly.  (Out #1)

     

    R1 is an idiot, and he runs at the crack of the bat!  He runs around second base and passes R2.  He's out for passing.  (Out #2) AND the ball stays live!

     

    R2 then interferes with F6's attempt to catch the IFF.  (INT = Out #3!)

     

    A variation is that R2 is off the bag and it hit by the batted ball.  Same difference.

     

    How about that?

     

    Mike CVUA

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Jun 24, 2012 9:59 AM (in response to Frank_B)
    runner interference?

    1) If a runner interferes with a fielder attempting to field a declared infield fly.

     

    2) If a runner (or batter-runner) WILLFULLY AND DELIBERATELY interferes with fielding a batted ball in an attempt to prevent a double play.  In OBR this gets called about once per decade.

     

    3)  ILLEGAL slide to prevent a DP.  Slide must be within reach of the base.  Runner cannot roll block the fielder (and must actually roll to get this called).

     

    The end.

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Jun 24, 2012 10:01 AM (in response to Mike_CVUA)
    runner interference?

    Nice trivial quiz thing but not what Frank was asking for.

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Jun 24, 2012 10:49 AM (in response to Frank_B)
    Re: runner interference?

    Frank/Rich: 

     

    No sweat!

     

    As Rich pointed out, the "double play" is a rare cat!

     

    In any case, other than the putative double play, it is tough to come up a sitch where an INT comes up in a play where more than one out is awarded.  So I answered the question to point out that an INT immediately kills the ball and no other outs can be made (normally).  Thus, the way you asked the question didn't specify when the BR was called out.  Thus, my IFF tee-up.

     

    Have a good weekend.

     

    Mike CVUA

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...