Skip navigation

681 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jul 5, 2012 6:49 AM by Manny_A RSS
jnjgould Rookie 3 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 4, 2012 3:47 PM

Appeal play

One out with R1 and R3. Batter hits a fly ball to center field which is caught for out number two.  R3 tags and tries to score. Meanwhile R1 was off with the pitch and has not tagged. CF throws home attempting to get R3 before he scores. The runner beats the throw and scores. Then the catcher throws to first and the first baseman touches first just before R1 can get back. I know the run counts, but the umpire says that R1 is safe at first because they only stepped on the base instead of tagging R1. They say that since there was an attempted play at home first, that they can no longer double R1 off by just stepping on the base, and that they must tag him. And they quote 7.08d in the rule book, saying that there has been another attempted play. I believe the umpire is wrong, and that as long as the defense threw to first before R1 got back, in an obvious appeal, and as long as time was still in (Which it was), then R1 should be out. And it should be irrelevant that they threw home first. So which is it? Is R1 out?

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jul 4, 2012 4:32 PM (in response to jnjgould)
    Appeal play

    They are misinterpreting 7.08(d).  Continuous action such as happened in your play does NOT break the right to appeal because for the purpose of appeals it is one long continuous play. The "next pitch or play" refers is thus a play foillowing the end ot the continuous action.

     

    It's no different than appealing a runner leaving third base too soon after the continuous actioon is completed. They should recognize that as a valid appeal and see the connection.

     

    The MLBUM has several example plays with cntinuous action.  You can order one at www.umpire.org

  • Manny_A Legend 841 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Jul 5, 2012 6:49 AM (in response to jnjgould)
    Appeal play

    Please tell us somebody protested this call. This is a no-brainer.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points