Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1388 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 11, 2012 8:41 PM by Lochbain RSS
Belated Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 18, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 18, 2012 6:40 AM

Any advice for an absolute newbie?

Hey, everyone.

I'm Rachel, and I turn 18 in two weeks time. I really want to tone a bit and get into shape, so I've made a promise to myself that I'll start the C25K the sunday after my birthday - time to be an adult and take care of my body, right? I'd love to be able to run 10km by the end of the year, but baby steps!

However, being a uni student, I'm pretty much broke as can be - how important is all the state of the art running gear? I have a basic old pair of running leggings from Target, and what I think are either running or netball shoes, I honestly can't remember which. (I vaguely remember buying the cheaper option last year for netball, rather than actual netball shoes, but whether or not they're running shoes is a bit of a question mark.)

I just can't justify spending $120 on a pair of shoes to go run around a lake in a tiny country uni town, y'know? But I don't want to injure my already dodgy netball knees. D:

So yes, advice for this newb?

• ydiez Pro 122 posts since
    Nov 7, 2011
    1. Jul 18, 2012 8:01 AM (in response to Belated)

Well, I don't think you need to spend 120 $ in running shoes, but I would advise you to get yourself some decent gear.