Skip navigation

1041 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jul 20, 2012 12:30 PM by Michael_Taylor RSS
T__47 Amateur 24 posts since
Jun 30, 2002
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 18, 2012 8:12 PM

Balk??

Situation: RHP, runner on second.  RHP has come set and the runner breaks for third.  Instead of just stepping to third the pitcher does a reverse pivot stepping to second and in the same motion throws across his body to third (not stepping to third)  Is this legal or after his step to second he must now step to third?  Or is this legal as you can fake to second?  This all happens without the pitcher stepping off the rubber.

  • BlueBeak Legend 300 posts since
    Nov 26, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jul 19, 2012 3:52 PM (in response to T__47)
    Re: Balk??

    RHP has come set and the runner breaks for third.  Instead of just stepping to third the pitcher does a reverse pivot stepping to second and in the same motion throws across his body to third (not stepping to third) This all happens without the pitcher stepping off the rubber.

     

    8.05 (c) "The pitcher while touching the plate, fails to step directly toward a base BEFORE throwing to THAT base".

     

    Step towards 2nd and throw to 3rd while engaging the plate? Ring it up.





    Time wounds all heels.....

  • Manny_A Legend 841 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Jul 20, 2012 11:26 AM (in response to T__47)
    Re: Balk??

    T__47 wrote:

     

    If a RHP swings his non-pivot foot past the rubber, can he step to second but not throw, as the runner breaks for third, and then step to third?  Wouldn't this be similar to the fake to third throw to first scenario?


    Pitchers from the set may step towards second and not throw there.  We see that all the time in pro ball.  Almost always, the runner at second will just go back to the base.

     

    But if the runner takes off for third, the pitcher can abort any play to second and throw to third.  But I believe the pitcher has to disengage after the step to second before he steps and throws to third.  I don't believe a pitcher is allowed to take what amounts to TWO steps from the rubber, one to second and then one to third.

  • Michael_Taylor Community Moderator 318 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Jul 20, 2012 12:30 PM (in response to T__47)
    Re: Balk??

    Correct, once he passes the rubber, he has to pitch or go to second. From there he has to disengage before going to third.





    Michael S. Taylor

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points