Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

579 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jul 26, 2012 2:44 PM by Jasko123
BlueyzRN Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 25, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 25, 2012 3:01 AM

Is it possible??

Hi!

I am new to running....just made it to the three mile mark upright without walking!! My friend asked me to do a half marathon in February... Is it possible to walk/run that distance by that time? Is it unsafe to run/walk that distance so new to the sport?

• ydiez Pro 141 posts since
    Nov 7, 2011
    1. Jul 25, 2012 3:10 AM (in response to BlueyzRN)
    Is it possible??

First of all, congratulations on taking up running and I wish you lots of happy miles.

No problem with setting goals, as long as you train properly for them and do not overdo it. Running can sometimes be tough (specially at the begining), so you should focus on enjoying your runs at first.

Once you have achieved that, improved your fitness level a little and are more confident with your running skills, there are many training plans for HM out there, from walking to elite, a quick search led me to Hal Highdon's plans which might be useful for you.

http://halhigdon.com/training/51130/Half-Marathon-Training-Guide

So yes, it is possible, but it will take some training, a positive attitude and lots and lots of power of will to follow the training plan that you choose.

Current PB:

5k: 20:12 (December 31st 2012)

10k : 42:30 (March 9th 2014)

Half Marathon: 1:35:27 (February 3rd 2013)